Kool G Rap Signs With West Coast Indie Back Route Records

  Hip-Hop pioneer Kool G Rap has signed a recording deal with Stockton, Calif.,-based Back Route Records and is set to release his next album Uncontrolled Substance.

The rapper, who has released classic albums like 1988's Road to the Riches, 1990's Wanted: Dead or Alive and 1995's 456, decided on Back Route after hearing about the independent label's CEO Jamez "Jamez Bomb" Rosado.

"I first linked up with my dude Jamez through doing a feature with one of the artist signed to his label named Okwerdz," said G Rap. "My man [producer] Domingo also spoke highly of how Jamez handles business. That's basically how we connected to lay down this street album. Uncontrolled Substance is definitely gonna be a banger."

The signing concludes months of speculation about which label would sign G Rap, who was rumored to be aligning with G-Unit.

The Back Route deal fell into place after much discussion between Rosado and G Rap, who harbored respect for the West Coast independent scene.

The pair was introduced by a mutual friend, according to Rosado, who said that "everything fell into place. Real recognize real."

In addition to the G Rap signing, Back Route is also working with DJ Green Lantern for the release of the new mixtape Sneak Attack. The disc will feature Back Route artists and offer songs from upcoming albums, including exclusives with Too Short, Tech N9ne, and Goldie of Federation, as well as remixes.

Other upcoming projects from the label include albums from Okwerdz and Young Collage.

Okwerdz' Off Season will feature collaborations with Juelz Santana, Bezel, and SAS of The Diplomats, Tech N9ne, Mista F.A.B., Casual from Hieroglyphics, Kurupt, Sean Price of Helta Skeltah, Copywrite.

Production will be handled by Needlz, Rockwilder and Domingo. Okwerdz just recently returned from touring Australia with Supernatural and DJ QBert.

Take It or Leave It, the debut album from Young Collage, will include the tracks "Everythang" and "Better Way" as well as cameos from former Destiny's Child member LeToya, Too Short, Devin the Dude, Kool G Rap, The Luniz and Goldie.

Uncontrolled Substance is slated to hit shelves this year. Fans can download the Sneak Attack mixtape for free at www.backrouterecords.com and www.koolgrapsite.com


Discuss Topic Here