Snoop Dogg, Jim Jones & Mobb Deep Honor Jam Master Jay At 1st Annual J.A.M. Awards

 In an effort to commemorate the life and legacy of legendary Run-DMC spin doctor Jam Master Jay, the Jam Master Jay Foundation for Music has announced nominees for the inaugural J.A.M. Awards.


The awards show, whose name is an acronym for justice, arts and music, will take place on at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City later this month and will feature a who's who list of hip hop personalities including Snoop Dogg, Marley Marl, Mobb Deep, De La Soul, Dead Prez, Papoose, Raekwon, Q-Tip, DMC, Kid Capri, EPMD, Lord Finesse, Bumpy Knuckles, DJ Kay Slay and Jim Jones, among others.

The awards, which recognize the positive aspects of rap, will honor those displaying outstanding efforts in the areas of social justice, arts and music. Award winners include Kanye West, Wyclef Jean, Spike Lee, Chuck D and Dr. Cornell West.

The J.A.M. Awards and concert will take place on Thursday, November 29.

Discuss this topic