Tommy Boy Brings Back the Old School with "Essential" Hip-Hop Collection

 In celebration of Tommy Boy Records' 25th anniversary, the label is ready to release volumes five and six in a 12-volume CD collection entitled Hip-Hop Essentials 1979 - 1991. The complete set features 144 classic tracks that helped to pave the groundwork for Hip-Hop music.

The first four volumes, which includes music from The Fearless Four, The Beastie Boys, Boogie Down Productions, Marley Marl, Kid-N-Play, LL Cool J, De La Soul, Eric B. and Rakim, A Tribe Called Quest, NWA, Big Daddy Kane, Public Enemy and Run-DMC, among others was recently released in November. Volumes five and six are set to come out at the end of January and the remaining volumes will hit shelves in March to complete the set.

Label founder and CEO Tom Silverman compiled the collection along with Stu Fine of Wild Pitch Records. Hip-Hop Essentials boasts liner notes from famed Hip-Hop journalistsand writers like Jeff Chang (Can't Stop Won't Stop), Dan Charnas, Raquel Cepeda (And It Don't Stop: The Best American Hip-Hop Journalism of the Last 25 Years), Bill Adler (Raising Hell), Brian Coleman (Rakim Told Me), Toure, Harry Allen, and Davey D, with an introduction from Nelson George (Hip-Hop America). Each volume will also feature photographer Martha Cooper's (Hip-Hop Files: Photographs 1979 - 1984) iconic photography as cover art.

The Tommy Boy collection focuses on the time before Hip-Hop Culture was considered mainstream and just before Gangsta Rap exploded on the airwaves. For more information on the project visit Hip-Hop Essentials' website.

Discuss this topic