Remy Ma Goes The Indie Route On New CD

ImageFormer Terror Squad member Remy Ma is slated to release an independent album titled The BX Files via Sure Shot Recordings this summer.

The album, which is due in stores on August 28, features appearances from Murda Mook, T-Rex, Papoose, Jae Millz, and Maino. Production on the project is supplied by the Heatmakerz and Ron Browz.

"Remy is an incredibly talented MC who can battle anybody, male or female," explained Sure Shot CEO Chris Landry via a statement. "She continues to carry the legacy of Big Pun and we are excited about releasing one of the best female MCs in the game."

Remy cut ties with Terror Squad/SRC Records earlier this year. The Bronx bred rapper claimed that Terror Squad honcho Fat Joe and SRC did not give her debut album, There's Something About Remy, adequate marketing and promotion, which in turn caused the album to perform poorly on the charts.

"You got me in here and I'm screaming at them crazy and they don't ever see my boss [Fat Joe] who's supposed to be holding me down. It's like, if he don't care then why should we care," Remy said in an earlier interview. "There was so much craziness over there at that label with the last album and I just feel like I know it wasn't me. I did 'Feels So Good' with Ne-Yo, I did the 'Conceited' joint with Scott Storch, I did the 'Whuteva' joint with Swizz Beatz. From 'Lean Back' to the Remy album it shoulda been laid out quite flat, but they was playing around."

The BX Files hits stores on August 28.

Discuss this topic