50 Cent goes literary with book unit

ImageRapper 50 Cent, currently on movie screens in "Get Rich or Die Tryin'," is branching out into publishing with his own imprint.

G-Unit Books is a venture with MTV/Pocket Books, publisher of his memoir "From Pieces to Weight." G-Unit's offerings, described as "street fiction" in the vein of Iceberg Slim and Donald Goines, will feature the members of 50 Cent's rap posse G-Unit, including Lloyd Banks, Tony Yayo and Young Buck.

The venture will launch in 2007 with a novella by Nikki Turner, author of the novel "The Glamorous Life."

Discuss this topic