Bootsy Collins Snags Snoop, Ice Cube, Chuck D. For First Album in 5 Years

Funk legend Bootsy Collins has enlisted a variety of rappers and celebrities on his new upcoming album, Tha Funk Captiol of the World.

Bootsy, who cut his teeth as a bass player with James Brown's band The J.B.s, , was also a member of the Parliament-Funkadelic collective.

Bootsy also fronted The Rubber Band, which dropped classic albums like Stretchin' Out in Bootsy's Rubberband, Ahh..The Name is Bootsy Baby! and Bootsy? Player of the Year.

The songs on those albums have been sampled by rappers like N.W.A., Tupac, Beyonce, Jay-Z, Notorious B.I.G., EPMD, Big Daddy Kane, Ice Cube and others.

Rappers like Chuck D., Ice Cube and Snoop Dogg have returned the favor, by joining Bootsy on Tha Funk Capitol of the World, Bootsy's first official album in over five years.  

In addition to the rap stars, Tha Funk Capitol of the World boasts appearances by Samuel J. Jackson, the Reverend Al. Sharpton, Dr. Cornel West and banjo player Bela Fleck.

Outside of recording his own album, Bootsy has stayed busy over the past few months. He was recently in the studio with Kanye West, T-Pain, R. Kelly and Snoop Dogg.

Bootsy is also working with William Shatner and legendary singer Sly Stone, for upcoming albums.

Bootsy Collins' new album Tha Funk Capitol of the World is due in stores on April 26th.