J Dilla Lives On, Rare EP To Be Re-Released

 With his place in hip-hop history already solidified, legendary producer J Dilla will now have some of his most rare works made available once again to loyal fans.

The late Detroit beatmaker's work Ruff Draft, which was only released on vinyl in February 2003 on Dilla's Mummy Records will now again see the light of day. The disc, which will be re-released in 2007 through Stones Throw Records is a ten track, self-produced EP. It will also include 4 additional, previously unreleased material from the Ruff Draft sessions which did not fit on the original vinyl format. The album was completed around the same time that the beatsmith was working on his project with Madlib, Champion Sound, under the alias Jaylib.

The iconic producer and founding member of the group Slum Village, passed away from complications stemming from his bout with lupus last February. He has worked with a host of hip-hop's elite during his illustrious career including Q-Tip, Common, De La Soul, The Roots, Erykah Badu and Busta Rhymes, among others.

Earlier this year BBE Records posthumously released what would be Dilla's final work, The Shining, which received critical acclaim. As previously reported by, Common , will.i.am, Talib Kweli and Black Thought all recently paid homage to Dilla by being featured in a video for the single "Won't Do" off of The Shining.

Ruff Draft will hit shelves on March 6, 2007

Here is a complete track listing:

1 Intro

2 Let's Take It Back

3 Reckless Driving

4 Nothing Like This

5 The $

6 Interlude

7 Make'em NV

8 Interlude

9 Crushin' (Yeeeeaah!)

10 Shouts

11 Intro (Alt) *

12 Wild *

13 Take Notice *

14 Shouts (Alt) *

Discuss this topic